The Wry Observer’s Covid-19 update (226)

Here’s a piece that will make everyone think; Raw data for “Unnatural evolutionary processes of SARS-CoV-2 variants and possibility of deliberate natural selection” | Zenodo 

The abstract reads: 

Over the past three years, severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) has repeatedly caused pandemics, generating various mutated variants ranging from Alpha to Omicron. In this study, we aimed to clarify the evolutionary processes leading to the formation of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variants, focusing on Omicron variants with many amino acid mutations in the spike protein among SARS-CoV-2 isolates. To determine the order of mutations leading to the formation of the SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variants, we compared the sequences of 129 Omicron BA.1-related, 141 BA.1.1-related, and 122 BA.2-related isolates, and attempted to clarify the evolutionary processes of SARS-CoV-2 Omicron variants, including the order of mutations leading to their formation and the occurrence of homologous recombination. As a result, we concluded that the formation of a part of Omicron isolates BA.1, BA.1.1, and BA.2 was not the product of genome evolution, as is commonly observed in nature, such as the accumulation of mutations and homologous recombinations. Furthermore, the study of 35 recombinant isolates of Omicron variants BA.1 and BA.2 confirmed that Omicron variants were already present in 2020. The analysis showed that Omicron variants were formed by an entirely new mechanism that cannot be explained by previous biology, and knowing how the SARS-CoV-2 variants were formed prompts a reconsideration of the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic. 

Now this is only a pre-print and being a natural sceptic I will only say that if what they say is true it is extremely worrying. You can also find an analysis of it at “Unnatural evolution”: indisputable evidence for deliberate and systematic creation of circulating covid variants (substack.com). I will let readers make up their own minds. 

In the three years that I have been blogging on the SARS-CoV-2 saga I have never been trolled, until last month when I posted a response to an article on another site suggesting that the serious illness of Covid-19 was in fact a bacterial pneumonia. Shades of the Spanish Flu suggestion… I responded with a brief summary of my cytokine storm theory to be told that I should not bother with unreliable textbooks (I had cited Cron and Behrens, referenced here many times). Well. I was delighted to find someone who had actually read it and asked for an explanation of why they found it unreliable. I was then asked for my area of expertise, which I provided, to receive a summary of theirs. Once again I requested a critique. No, came the reply, I have never read it. 

Is this what medical science has come to? On the one hand doing gain of function research that kills people while on the other offering put-downs having not examined the evidence? I despair. Sadly the whole process of scientific research seems to have been affected (infected?). It is quite appalling that one must distort one’s results into a form that editors, or the majority consensus, finds acceptable or the work remains unpublished. In case you don’t know what I am referring to see I Left Out the Full Truth to Get My Climate Change Paper Published | The Free Press (thefp.com). For balance also see Editor of Nature journal slams climate scientist Patrick Brown’s ‘highly irresponsible’ research after he said publications reject studies that don’t ‘support certain narratives’ | Daily Mail Online. 

I am not clear from the second piece whether it is Brown’s research that is highly irresponsible (in which case why was it published) or the post-publication statement he has made. I know which I think, but you decide!